page title icon Alphabetical List of 50 States of the United States

Interested people always ask;

How many states are in USA now? and What are the all US states list?

The United States of America is comprised of 50 states, with a federal district Washington DC, five major territories, and various minor islands. Each state has its own state capital, traditions, and history.

Basically, the U.S. territories are scattered across the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. So the USA stretching more than 3,000 miles from the Atlantic Ocean to the Pacific Ocean.

The 48 contiguous states and Washington DC, are in North America between Canada and Mexico, while Alaska is in the far northwestern part of North America and Hawaii is an archipelago in the mid-Pacific Ocean.

Each state and capital has its own constitution, based on the principles of the republic and the government, consisting of three branches: executive, legislative and judicial.

Under the United States Constitution, states have many powers and rights, such as controlling interstate trade, conducting elections, forming local governments, and approving constitutional amendments, but sovereignty is shared with larger federal governments.

Every US state is represented by two senators, while representatives are distributed among the states in proportion to the most recent constitutionally mandated decennial census.

In addition, each state has the right to select a number of voters to vote in the Electoral College, the body that elects the president of the United States, equal to the total of representatives and senators in Congress from that state.

The Constitution grants Congress the authority to admit new states into the Union. 

Since the establishment of the United States in 1776 by Thirteen British Colonies, the number of states has expanded from the original 13 to 50.

People also search;

What are all 50 states list? And What are the capitals of the 50 states?

Don’t rush,

In this section, we have added a list of all 50 states in alphabetical order with us state abbreviations and added the date when they became a part of American states.

List of 50 states in alphabetical order

50 states list map

Here is the alphabetical list of 50 states of the United States with the current state capital, largest city, and the date they were admitted to the US Constitution.

State Name  Postal abbreviation Capital/Cities Endorse date
Alabama AL Montgomery, Birmingham Dec 14, 1819
Alaska AK Juneau, Anchorage Jan 3, 1959
Arizona AZ Phoenix Feb 14, 1912
Arkansas AR Little Rock Jun 15, 1836
California CA Sacramento, Los Angeles Sep 9, 1850
Colorado CO Denver Aug 1, 1876
Connecticut CT Hartford, Bridgeport Jan 9, 1788
Delaware DE Dover, Wilmington Dec 7, 1787
Florida FL Tallahassee, Jacksonville Mar 3, 1845
Georgia GA Atlanta Jan 2, 1788
Hawaii HI Honolulu Aug 21, 1959
Idaho ID Boise Jul 3, 1890
Illinois IL Springfield, Chicago Dec 3, 1818
Indiana IN Indianapolis Dec 11, 1816
Iowa IA Des Moines Dec 28, 1846
Kansas KS Topeka, Wichita Jan 29, 1861
Kentucky KY Frankfort, Louisville Jun 1, 1792
Louisiana LA Baton Rouge, New Orleans Apr 30, 1812
Maine ME Augusta, Portland Mar 15, 1820
Maryland MD Annapolis, Baltimore Apr 28, 1788
Massachusetts[ MA Boston Feb 6, 1788
Michigan MI Lansing, Detroit Jan 26, 1837
Minnesota MN St. Paul, Minneapolis May 11, 1858
Mississippi MS Jackson Dec 10, 1817
Missouri MO Jefferson City, Kansas City Aug 10, 1821
Montana MT Helena, Billings Nov 8, 1889
Nebraska NE Lincoln, Omaha Mar 1, 1867
Nevada NV Carson City, Las Vegas Oct 31, 1864
New Hampshire NH Concord, Manchester Jun 21, 1788
New Jersey NJ Trenton, Newark Dec 18, 1787
New Mexico NM Santa Fe, Albuquerque Jan 6, 1912
New York NY Albany, New York City Jul 26, 1788
North Carolina NC Raleigh, Charlotte Nov 21, 1789
North Dakota ND Bismarck, Fargo Nov 2, 1889
Ohio OH Columbus Mar 1, 1803
Oklahoma OK Oklahoma City Nov 16, 1907
Oregon OR Salem, Portland Feb 14, 1859
Pennsylvania PA Harrisburg, Philadelphia Dec 12, 1787
Rhode Island RI Providence May 29, 1790
South Carolina SC Columbia, Charleston May 23, 1788
South Dakota SD Pierre, Sioux Falls Nov 2, 1889
Tennessee TN Nashville Jun 1, 1796
Texas TX Austin, Houston Dec 29, 1845
Utah UT Salt Lake City Jan 4, 1896
Vermont VT Montpelier, Burlington Mar 4, 1791
Virginia VA Richmond, Virginia Beach Jun 25, 1788
Washington WA Olympia, Seattle Nov 11, 1889
West Virginia WV Charleston Jun 20, 1863
Wisconsin WI Madison, Milwaukee May 29, 1848
Wyoming WY Cheyenne Jul 10, 1890

In table: list of 50 states and capitals

Note: USA State Postal Abbreviations are all two letters, and these two letters are always capitalized without any periods. These official state abbreviations have all been standardized by the United States Postal Service.

As an example, New York is shortened as NY and not as N.Y. with periods after each letter. Similarly, the Alabama abbreviation is AL (and not Al).

US Territories and Commonwealth

Outside of the 50 main states in the Union, the United States has several territories in different parts of the world too. These territories may not be official states, but they still adhere to the same formula of two capital letters for their official abbreviations.

Federal district

Name  Postal abbreviation Established Population
District of Columbia DC Jul 16, 1790 705,749

Territories of the United States

In addition to the 50 states and the federal district, the United States has sovereignty over 14 territories. Five of them (American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) have a permanent, nonmilitary population, while nine of them do not.

Name  Postal abbreviation Capital Acquired Population
American Samoa AS Pago Page 1900 57,400
Guam GU Hagåtña 1899 161,700
Northern Mariana Islands MP Saipan 1986 52,300
Puerto Rico PR San Juan 1899 3,193,694
U.S. Virgin Islands VI Charlotte Amalie 1917 103,700

With the exception of Navassa Island, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands, which are located in the Caribbean, all territories are located in the Pacific Ocean. 

One territory, Palmyra Atoll, is considered to be incorporated, meaning the full body of the Constitution has been applied to it; the other territories are unincorporated, meaning the Constitution does not fully apply to them. 

Ten territories (the Minor Outlying Islands and American Samoa) are considered to be unorganized, meaning they have not had an Organic Act enacted by Congress; the four other territories are organized, meaning they have had an Organic Act that has been enacted by Congress.The five inhabited territories each have limited autonomy and a non-voting delegate in Congress, in addition to having territorial legislatures and governors, but residents cannot vote in federal elections. is a top listing and review site. We focus on lists that are lesser-known. Every day we publish multiple articles in different categories.

Share on:

1 thought on “Alphabetical List of 50 States of the United States”

Leave a Comment